oreofor.blogg.se

Ravin crossbow crank
Ravin crossbow crank




ravin crossbow crank

With most crossbows today, the bowstring and bolt make full contact with the rail, but, with the R18, the bowstring free floats above the rail. The Frictionless Flight System is another key attribute. I believe it’s meant more for packability, which I could see beneficial for hunters who hike deep into the brush or backcountry. It doesn’t shoot as accurately with the stock removed because you lose a contact point, but I assume that it isn’t truly designed to be shot as a “pistol” without the stock. Talk about maneuverability for tight hunting setups.Īlso, the stock is removable, which reduces the overall length to just 18 inches rather than 25. The advantage of this design is a shockingly small 4.75-inch overall width (cocked or de-cocked, it doesn’t change). The tiny cams rotate 720 degrees through the draw cycle, coiling the bowstring and cables around the cam and cam axle. This allows the VertiCoil Cam System to be positioned directly beneath the limb tips and tight to the stock.

ravin crossbow crank

Let’s discuss them.įirst and most important, the R18 has vertically oriented limbs, and that alone makes it the elephant in the room because conventional crossbows have horizontal limbs. So, what’s all different about the R18 than other crossbows? Other than the outer-space aesthetics it sports, Ravin has incorporated some key features that all harmonize to produce incredible performance. A customer seeking accuracy, speed and maneuverability - not to mention other great points - should definitely test-drive this hot rod. Regardless, Ravin’s R18 diminutive size and wildly futuristic aesthetics blend perfectly with dependable performance. With that being said, the words “new, different and unique” might scare some customers while piquing the interest of others. I’m not aware of another crossbow that even moderately resembles the R18. It looks way different than conventional designs, and that alone will catch your customers’ eyes. At first, I questioned if it should be classified as its own new “species” in the crossbow world, but fundamentally, it operates just like a standard crossbow - while a first glance might be intimidating, it doesn’t take a Ph.D. The Ravin R18 has a limb system unlike any other crossbow I’ve reviewed. Cocking Device: Versa-Draw Cocking System.Manufacturer Listed Velocity: 330 fps (measured with a 400-grain bolt).Bolt Length and Weight: 16 inches 350 grains.Draw Effort: 12 pounds (with integrated crank).

ravin crossbow crank

Overall Length: 18 inches (stock detached) 25 inches (stock attached).

ravin crossbow crank

Mass Weight: 6 pounds (bare bow) 8.36 pounds (with sight, quiver and arrows).The R18 consists of high-quality materials, and though it looks like something from outer space, it is highly dependable and easy to use. If so, read on as I divulge my thoughts after testing and evaluating this not-so-crossbow, crossbow. If you haven’t seen or held the Ravin R18 in person, I’m sure after musing at the pictures in this report that you’re as intrigued as I was when I first got my hands on it. I also couldn’t (and still can’t) believe how small it is. All I could think was, Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it’s a Ravin crossbow! The R18’s shockingly unique design is unlike anything I’ve ever seen in my life. So, when my eyes first met the R18, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. It’s tough to mine through all of the fluff, so when I find something that truly stands out, I know it’s time to look closer and see what it’s all about.Īlong those lines, I knew that I’d be testing a Ravin crossbow but was unsure which model would arrive at our doorstep. I don’t know about you, but I appreciate uniqueness and individuality, especially in a day and age when stuff just blends together - many things seem to have that “me-too” vibe these days. A comfortable grip and light trigger make the Ravin R18 an enjoyable and easy-to-shoot crossbow.






Ravin crossbow crank